Breaking Them Up to 42 Is Hard to Do

Stunned. Surprised. Disappointed. Goodbye Johnny Keyser and Potential My Girl Britnee Kellogg. I suppose the good news is that this decreases the probability I could have a country-singing My Girl two years in a row. I thought that both of them had a final 12 package of vocal talent and good looks but obviously the judges disagreed.

Aside from the continued success of the other Idolists I highlighted in my last blog, I did hear three young and strong voices that I will be looking out for next week: Ariel Sprague, Joshua Ledet and Jessica Sanchez.

Tonight and next week are reminders of how hard it is to get down to the 24 Idolists that we will be voting on. If talent like Johnny and Britnee – and a number of others – aren’t in the final 42, then the judges must have seen some incredible performers.[1] And, of course, the evil genius producers know that if people are starting to get infuriated by who’s in and who’s out – and I know I am far from the only one – then they have us hooked. Because we cared about someone who is gone, we give even more allegiance to our favorites that remain. And after next week, we will have 24 Idolists to show our allegiance to through our votes.

On a different subject, some Twitter fun broke out tonight. Simon Cowell tweeted, “Maybe the winner of @TheXFactorUSA this yr should compete with winner of The Voice & Idol in a super final. Just a thought. I’d be up for it.” To which Idol evil genius producer Nigel Lythgoe responded, “@simoncowell suggests the IDOL winner should take on the voice and x-factor winners. The problem is the Idol winner will be a star by then.”

Ouch.

P.S. I loved the songs of the 50s and 60s tonight. In the Still of the Night and Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow are simply two of the greatest songs ever written.[2]

____________________________________________________


[1] How the annoying Richie Law – the kid with the cowboy hat – is still in this is baffling, though.

[2] As attested to by being ranked #90 and #125, respectively on the Rolling Stone magazine’s list of “the 500 Greatest Songs of All Time”. Yes, I pay attention to the rankings for everything. Finding hard objective data that I can use to prove I’m right is what I love to do.

Explore posts in the same categories: Hollywood Week

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Breaking Them Up to 42 Is Hard to Do”

  1. Sherri B. Says:

    Jessica Sanchez is SO talented – I hope we’ll see much more of her. And yes, that Cowboy kid is incredibly annoying!

  2. YOUR MOM Says:

    I enjoyed the evening and was amazed at the depth of talent.
    I did, however, find the elimination process to be clumsily handled. Surely they can do better. They are supposed to be the experts.
    My thought is that they can withhold the results until ALL have been heard and then give the results to all at the same time. Better than telling them they are going through and then telling them they are not??
    AGREE WHOLEHEARTEDLY ABOUT “COWBOY”. SO ARROGANT AND CONDESCENDING.

  3. Pamela Blair Says:

    Loved the Las Vegas round! However, for some reason (it could be old age or it could be that I am getting all my reality shows jumbled up), I don’t remember it to be such a production with costumes, choreography, etc. You know you should be looking for local chapters of Reality TV Anonymous when you try to record something and your TV reminds you that your DVR is at it’s capacity for recording (four at one time!) Yikes!!!!! Thank, God, they air multiple showings of all the “Real Housewives” and other BRAVO crazy people so I have another opportunity to fill my mind with ridiculousness!!! I also don’t remember American Idol to be the newest competition for “Grey’s Anatomy!” The only thing missing was “McDreamy” coming to the rescue of the multiple overworked, underfed, dehydrated, anxiety ridden contestants! Darn…

    I do agree with your Mom about holding the judging until they have all sung and then announce who is going through. It seems kind of mean and unnecessary…but that wouldn’t create as much drama then, would it??? It should be an advertisement for waterproof mascars…just sayin’!

    Regarding the “Cowboy”…what are they thinking? There were clearly other singers who were much better than him…but again…the drama!!! After all, it is a TV show and they do need viewers (whether they care about the singing or not.) I see him as an older version of Astro on X-Factor when it comes to blowing his own horn! If he does make it through to the Top 24, I don’t think the audience will get behind him because of his cocky, superior attitude. But what do I know…I wanted Taylor Hicks to win “back in the day!!!!!” Wondering what “I” was thinking!!! lol

    Thanks for all your updates, Ray. I enjoy reading from someone who actually knows what they’re talking about!!!

  4. YOUR MOM Says:

    Great post, Pamela. You voiced a lot of my gripes with the producers and their intentionally created tasteless drama. It may produce more viewers; however, it also creates disgust and negativity.

  5. Ray Linder Says:

    Pamela, you crack me up! You didn’t mention Sweet Home Alabama which is fine because then I might have to come clean . . .

    Last year they went to Vegas with the Hollywood survivors. I think that was the first time. I like the idea of having them compete in that kind of setting as it prepares the survivors for the live shows as well as lets the judges see who is ready for that kind of performance.

    The drama – alas – pretty much all reality TV has it (as you seem to know better than me LOL) and Idol has turned it into an art form – art being a subjective taste, of course.

    Taylor? Well I’m fine with that IF you tell me you were for Daughtry before he was eliminated. After Daughtry I liked Elliott Yamin even though I knew he couldn’t win. I preferred Taylor to Kat McPhee but correctly didn’t see stardom in his future.

    Thanks for your kind words!

  6. Pamela Blair Says:

    Guilty as charged!!! I’m sad to say that I do (and have) watched every episode of Sweet Home Alabama (all three seasons!) The funny thing is…I have absolutely NO CLUE how and/or where I ever found it on TV. I have never in the history of my life watched CMT before that show came about. It just goes to show that if you are a true reality junkie, you will find a way to get the drugs (even if it’s by accident!!!) I do love Paige, though, but definitely don’t see her with a couple of those “oakies” (not to stereotype…just couldn’t think of a better word!!!) In my perfect ending, she would pick nobody and Nascar would hire her back!!! 🙂 Unfortunately, finding my way to that channel also exposed me to train wrecks like “Bayou Billionaire” and “My Big Redneck Vacation”! I have no words…and they have no teeth!!!!! OMG…

    I’m sorry to admit that, although I did really like Daughtry, I still had Taylor as my first choice!!! I know…I’m an idiot…I guess I’m just a sucker for the nice guy types! Good news though…I actually won a $200 Idol pool the season he won, so it was a win win for me!!! Never really liked Katherine McFee, but she is tearing it up on “Smash”…have to admit I do like her in that. And…surprise surprise…her MOM is now a voice coach on Idol??? Incest is rampant in reality TV!!! Gotta get those 15 minutes!!! Next thing we know the Biggest Loser brother and sister couples will be marrying each other! Of course they could use the excuse that they got so skinny they didn’t recognize each other…but that’s a whole other show…casting for the first season soon!!!

    So…back to what started this whole fiasco…looking forward to Idol next week when the rest of the “hopefuls” are back on stage (or off stage, depending on how many pass out!) Still hoping for the Idol/Grey’s Anatomy cross over event so McDreamy can make his appearance with his stethoscope and cute lab coat, and really hope they clue us in on where all those group performers got their matching outfits at the last minute…especially the three girls in the boogie woogie bugle boy khaki green shorts and army tops!!! I’m pretty sure the hotel gift shop didn’t carry those.

    Until next week…


Leave a comment